Listen to this article
Using the correct palm shortening substitutes means completing your without having to run to the store for this somewhat exotic ingredient.
Palm shortening is palm oil with some of the fat removed, which makes it into a semi-solid vegetable oil product. It is popular for cooking, as it is not like shortening, and contains no harmful trans fat, which is a consequence of that process. It also has a very high smoke point, which makes it useful for deep frying and grilling. As a fat in pastry and baking, it is used for making flaky bread and crusts.
Palm Shortening Substitutes
whatever you’re making. This is something to think about, especially if you are making pie crust, as the resulting dough flavor may clash or compliment your pie filling.is a healthy alternative to palm shortening, with lots of and MCTS, which are considered “good” fats. However, it will add a coconut flavor to
Butter is a good substitute for palm oil shortening if you are not avoiding dairy. It adds rich flavor to any recipe, although certainly a fair amount of as well. However, if you are making the crust, keep in mind that butter crust will not be as a flaky as a shortening crust, and will brown darker.
Margarine is a non-dairy butter replacement that is often mostly made of vegetable oil. There may even be palm oil in your margarine. Margarine will also add a rich butter flavor to all your recipes. However, it is designed to have less fat than butter, and therefore certainly less than shortening. You may need to use more, or add in vegetable oil, to make up for the fat loss. Without additional fat, the structure of your baking will be softer.
Lard refers to any animal fat that has been rendered for cooking. Lard bought in a grocery store will be hydrogenated, which means that it will contain trans fat. Some people choose instead to make their own by buying animal fat at the butcher and rendering it on the stovetop themselves. Lard will often taste very much like meat, which should be taken into account when substituting. Obviously, this is not appropriate as a vegan-friendly substitute.